top of page




Following the successful collaboration accross Europe that led to the first few Symposia for European Freshwater Sciences, it was decided that a platform to capitalise on this collaboration was needed.

Further discussions among the representatives of 6 national scientific associations and the elected chairman of this board, in the following two years led to the elaboration of a more formal draft of a constitution of the European Federation for Freshwater Sciences (EFFS). The draft was presented at the fourth SEFS, successfully held in Krakow (Poland) thanks to the efforts of the colleagues of the Polish Hydrobiological Society chaired by Maciej Gliwicz.

The main task of the federation was devoted to the cooperation of European freshwater scientists (with special attention to students and young researchers) and to the organisation of SEFS. Since then, the Federation has grown up and among its activities there is an electronic newsletter, prize(s) to students and further expansions in order to enlarge the cooperation among European freshwater scientists and give voice to the research and management needs of freshwater ecosystems.

At present, several thousands of European scientists belonging to 17 societies are involved.
Each society appoints two representatives as members of the Board of Representatives of the EFFS. This board was chaired by Colin S. Reynolds from 2006 to 2011 and by Luigi Naselli-Flores from 2011 to 2017. The present elected chairman is Antonio Camacho (antonio,

bottom of page